OFFICIAL MINUTES
REGULAR MEETING
BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL
SERVICE UNIT NO. 13

The regular meeting of the Board of Educational Service Unit No. 13 (ESU 13) was called to order by President Mark Sinner on Tuesday, May 17, 2022, at 7:00 PM at the ESU 13 Main Office, 4215 Avenue I, Scottsbluff, NE. The meeting notice was published in the Star-Herald on Saturday May 14, 2022.

President Sinner referenced the Nebraska Open Meetings Act as posted and noted that the Board reserves the right to rearrange the order of the agenda and to convene an executive session in accordance with § 84-1410.

Present: Steve Diemoz, Don Egging, Tim Horn, Patricia Jones, Scott Marsh, Kim Marx, Tom Millette, Ray Richards, Mark Sinner, Dr. Caroline Winchester, Dr. Laura Barrett - Administrator, Jodi Walker - Business Manager, and Desira Martin - Treasurer. Guests: Krystie Hohnstein, Jacey Marietta. Absent: Diane Coon, Bill Knapper.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Diemoz, that absent Board members Coon and Knapper be excused. Aye: Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Richards, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

Moved by Egging, seconded by Richards, that the agenda be approved as listed. Aye: Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

Moved by Marsh, seconded by Egging, that consent action items be approved as listed (Minutes of April regular meeting, Treasurer's Report, Fund Balance Report, Budget Report, Claims, 2022-2023 Staff Hires: Leadership - Julie Black, SPED Coordinator; Certificated Staff: Laura Higgins - Early Childhood, Megan Lantis - ASD Coordinator. Staff Resignations: Jared Mackrill - Special Education). Aye: Horn, Jones, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Winchester, Diemoz. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

The following General Fund claims were approved for payment:

May 17, 2022	
Salaries, Benefits	\$886,065.13
Prof. & Tech. Services; Mileage	\$101,410.46
Leases, Utilities & Maintenance	\$22,296.62
Copies, Postage, Telephone & Travel	\$84,696.54
Supplies, Materials, Software & other Util.	\$111,069.14
Bldg. Improvements, Furn., Equipment, Hardware, Vehicle Acquisition	0.00
Transfer for Investments	\$290,000.00
Dues, Fees & Ind. Costs	\$125,903.88
Total	\$1,621,441.77

Calendar items were noted.

No public forum.

Reports:

Dr. Katie Carrizales, ESU 13's Director of Psychological and Behavioral Health, and members of the department staff: Jennifer Lopez, EdS, Debbie Mills, EdS, Rachael Koppel and Jamie Sato, School Psychology Interns, Leah Reed, EdS, and Amber Andrews, Administrative Assistant presented on the role of school psychologists.

Head Start Director's Report and Policy Council Report for April - Krystie Hohnstein, Director of the Head Start Program, reviewed the Head Start/Early Head Start five year goals/changes for 2202-2023.

Administrator's Report Highlights:

 ESU 13 was approached about writing an Education Innovation and Research Grant (EIR) to expand support to schools in the area of implementing a multi-tiered system of support to address the mental health and well-being of staff in order to meet the needs of their students. If awarded, this would be a 5 year project intended to support our entire ESU area.

Board Member Comments: President Sinner informed the members that there would be Board member committee restructuring for improved functionality.

Business:

Moved by Millette, seconded by Jones, that the Board approve ESU 13's Mental Health Month Proclamation. Aye: Horn, Marsh, Marx, Richards, Sinner, Winchester, Diemoz, Egging. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Horn, that the Board approve the amendment to the 2021-2022 Employee Handbook, Section 4, Payroll and Benefits, Work Schedules, Paragraph 3. Aye: Jones, Marsh, Marx, Richards, Sinner, Winchester, Diemoz, Egging. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

Moved by Richards, seconded by Diemoz, that the Board approve ESU 13's 2022-2023 Menu of Services. Aye: Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner, Winchester, Egging, Horn, Jones. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

Moved by Marx, seconded by Marsh, that the Board approve the Administrator's recommendation to participate in the ESUCC Cooperative Projects for 2022-2023. Aye: Millette, Richards, Sinner, Winchester, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

It is the consensus of the Board to cancel the regular meeting in July and grant authorization to pay General Fund Claims with ratification of such action at the August Board meeting.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Richards, that the Board approve the Quality Improvement funding increase in the amount of \$17,192 for Head Start and Early Head Start employees that is being offered by the Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Children and Families. Aye: Marx, Sinner, Winchester, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Marx, that the Board approve the 2.28% Cost of Living Allowance (COLA) increase for Head Start and Early Head Start employees that is being offered by the Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Children and Families. Aye: Richards, Sinner, Winchester, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

Moved by Jones, seconded by Horn, that the Board approve the revised Head Start Family and Community Partnerships Written Plans and Transportation Written Plans. Aye: Richards, Sinner, Winchester, Diemoz, Egging, Marsh, Marx, Millette. Nay: none. Absent: Coon,

Knapper. Motion passed.

Moved by Winchester, seconded by Diemoz, that the Board approve the proposed 2022-2023 calendars for LifeLink, Meridian, and Panhandle Beginnings student programs. Aye: Sinner, Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

Revised Certified Staff Evaluation was discussed.

Moved by Marsh, seconded by Marx, that the Board approve the use of the Nebraska Frameworks process for accreditation. Aye: Winchester, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Millette, Richards, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

Moved by Richards, seconded by Egging, that the above listed minutes be approved as read. Aye: Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner, Winchester. Nay: none. Absent: Coon, Knapper. Motion passed.

President Sinner declared the regular meeting adjourned. Next regular meeting will be held on Tuesday, June 21, 2022 at ESU 13 Main Office, 4215 Avenue I, Scottsbluff, NE.